What is inside of a star?

It depends on the size and the age of the star. Stars like our Sun are mostly hydrogen, plus some helium that's the end product of their fusion reaction. Older and larger stars fuse their helium into heavier elements as they exhaust their hydrogen. This process ends with iron; it can't be fused.