Do cats run faster than dogs?

Depends on the breed of cat and dog coupled with the distance they are traveling. For instance a small cat, with it's quickness may be faster than a German Shepard for few feet, but the German Shepard's gate would allow it to cover more ground with each stride over a larger distance