How long does it take to hard boil one egg?

8 to 10 minutes. Put egg(s) in cold water, enough to cover, in a saucepan with a lid. Put the pan on high heat and when the water boils, remove it from the heat and put the lid on. Wait 8-10 minutes, then run cold water over the eggs until they are cool enough to handle. Peel and eat.