Did the vikings have a written language?

Viking written language? The Viking age Norse, read and wrote using an alphabet called runor, built on sound values, also called runes. Many stones with runic inscriptions remain. Icelandic is the most closely related spoken language to the Ancient Viking Norse. Iceland has many Viking descendents.