Why are some egg yolks darker than others?

Actually, yolk color depends almost entirely on pigments in the food chickens eat. If a hen eats plenty of yellow-orange pigments called xanthophylls, those pigments will make a darker orange egg yolk. If a hen eats Barley or wheat the yolk will be lighter in color.