Can you paint with a wet paint brush?

Yes, in fact before using a paint brush, it should be pre-wetted with water if a latex paint is being used, or mineral spirits for an oil base paint. The excess liquid should then be removed, leaving the brush damp but not wet. This step will help the paint transfer better to the surface.