Can you put hot coffee in a glass cup?

Generally yes. Most modern glass there is no problem. With Crystal or cut glass the sudden change in temperature can cause catastrophic failure. I was taught that placing a spoon in the glass cup will prevent this. As a side note we do have glass cups that we use with hot coffee and hot tea.