Where does hail come from?

Hail is formed inside a cloud. When updrafts are strong enough, they carry water droplets above the freezing level. This freezing forms a tiny hailstone, which grows, as additional water freezes onto it. When the hailstone becomes too heavy for the updrafts to support it, it falls to the ground.