How do you break an ankle?

Fractures can occur with simultaneous tears of the ligaments. You can do this in several ways: Rolling the ankle in or out. Twisting the ankle side to side. Flexing or extending the joint. Applying severe force to the joint by coming straight down on it as in jumping from a high level.