Who wrote the green murder case?

THE GREEN MURDER CASE is a mystery novel by S. S. Van Dine, written in 1928. It is the third in the series of Philo Vance detective novels. This book was a number four best seller in the year it was written, and two film adaptations ensued in 1929 and 1937.