What type of fish is dory in finding dory?

Dory is Paracanthurus hepatus or better known as Pacific blue tang fish. Paracanthurus hepatus is the scientific name of Dory, a species belonging to the Indo-Pacific surgeonfish. It is the only member of genus Paracanthurus.