What is the difference between a silver star and a bronze star?

The Silver Star is awarded for gallantry in action, exhibiting extraordinary heroism. The Bronze Star may be awarded for heroism as well for meritorious service in combat operations. The Bronze Star is often issued for notable accomplishments, but not to the level required for the Silver Star.