What's a singular verb?

In English sentences, present-tense verbs with single subjects take a different form from those with plural subjects. The phrases, “He says,” “Patty swims,” and “The dog runs,” use the singular form, while the plural would be, “They say,” “Patty and John swim,” and “the dogs run.”