How much nature is in the world?

A new study published in Frontiers in Forests and Global Change has revealed that only 2% - 3% of the Earth's terrestrial surface can be considered ecologically intact. This percentage is significantly lower than previous assessments, which estimated this figure at 20% - 40%.