How do you get pumpkin seeds in minecraft?

To make pumpkin seeds, place 1 pumpkin in the 3x3 crafting grid. When making pumpkin seeds, it is important that the pumpkin is placed in the exact pattern as the image below. In the first row, there should be 1 pumpkin placed in the first box. This is the crafting recipe for pumpkin seeds.