How much is a katana worth?

In 1992, Dr. Walter Ames Compton sold 1100 swords from his collection for a total of $8 million in just one day. The most precious one was a Kamakura from the 13th century which he sold to an anonymous collector for the impressive sum of $418,000, making it the most expensive katana ever sold.