How long is a zip code second?

The 9-digit ZIP Code consists of two sections. The first five digits indicate the destination post office or delivery area. The last 4 digits represent specific delivery routes within delivery areas. ZIP plus 4 codes assist the USPS in effectively sorting and distributing mail.