Why is marilyn called the free state?

VisitMaryland.Org says the nickname "Free State" was given in 1919, when Congress passed a law prohibiting alcohol. Marylanders opposed prohibition because they believed it violated their state's rights. The name also represents the state’s long tradition of political freedom & religious tolerance.