Do hermit crabs need salt water?

Pet hermit crabs need a bowl of fresh water AND a bowl of ocean, not table salt, water in their cage at all times. By providing both fresh and salt water you are letting the crab decide for themselves what they need. Use bottled or de-chlorinated tap water for their Fresh water supply.