What is a competition caution in nascar?

A competition caution is used in NASCAR when the drivers have not had a chance to practice or qualify at the racetrack that weekend prior to the race, or there has been heavy rain at the racetrack between practice and the main race. The competition caution usually occurs in the first 5% of a race.