What is venom?

Venom is a poisonous secretion of an animal, such as a snake, spider, wasp, or scorpion, that contains one or more toxins that is injected into a prey or an attacker by a bite or sting. The strength and effects of venom depend on the class of toxin or toxins in the venom and the animal species.