Is coconut milk supposed to be chunky?

Separation of thick coconut milk is completely normal, and is not a sign that the milk has gone bad. Often, the fat will float to the top of the can, and the more watery liquid will sink. Shaking the unopened can, or stirring an opened one, can re-mix the coconut milk.