What does it mean second degree manslaughter?

Second-degree manslaughter is the unlawful killing of another person without implied or expressed ill will. A charge of second-degree manslaughter indicates that the defendant had no intention of taking the life of the victim and that they took reasonable action to prevent the victim's death.