What are some characteristics of each galaxy?

The observable universe contains two trillion—or two million million—galaxies. We would be here the rest of your life if I listed all of them! There are 4 main types: spiral, elliptical, peculiar, and irregular. Our Milky Way is spiral & the Large Magellanic Cloud is irregular.