What's the difference between boil and broil?

Boiling means to heat a liquid whereas broiling means to cook something by direct radiant heat

---

When you boil something you cook it in a liquid (likely water) that is boiling, which you can tell by the rapid bubbling. You Broil something in an oven on Broil setting, which is usually the top of the oven on the highest setting. Both methods use high heat & food can over cook quickly use caution.