What's the opposite of the ladder?

When writing about 2 things, they are referred to as the former, the first thing, & the latter (l,a,t,t,e,r), the last thing. I use the letters F for First, & L for Last, to remind me of which Former & Latter are referring. So the opposite of Latter, is Former.