What are the koopa lings?

The Koopalings are a fictional group of seven childlike characters in the Mario video game franchise by Nintendo. Their individual names are Larry Koopa, Roy Koopa, Lemmy Koopa, Wendy O. Koopa, Iggy Koopa, Morton Koopa Jr., and Ludwig von Koopa.