What year was the mandolin invented?

The mandolin, also spelled mandoline, is a small stringed musical instrument in the lute family. It evolved in the 18th century in Italy and Germany from the 16th-century mandora. The instrument's modern form and proportions were strongly influenced by the maker Pasquale Vinaccia of Naples (1806–82)

---

Mid 1800s from the mandolino