How many queen bees are in a beehive?

Usually only one queen is active. If the current queen stops laying eggs or dies, the workers will create a new queen by giving additional nutrients, called "royal jelly" to larvae in a special cell cup, and the new queen will replace the old, or lead the workers to a new hive.