How is asphalt made?

Asphalt is called a bituminous material because it contains bitumen, a hydrocarbon material soluble in carbon disulfate. The tar obtained from the destructive distillation of soft coal also contains bitumen. Both petroleum asphalt and coal tar are referred to as bituminous materials.