How does fireworks work?

A firework starts when a fuse is lit. The heat travels along the fuse until it reaches the bottom part of the firework, sometimes called the shell. This ignites the lift charge, which is made from black powder; a type of gunpowder. The powder is located at the bottom of the shell and ignites.