Do chickens need roosters to lay eggs?

You don't need a rooster for hens to lay eggs, but a rooster is needed to fertilize the eggs and procreate.

---

No, a hen lays about one egg a day even without a rooster. A rooster is needed for fertilization of an egg, but hens naturally form and lay a new egg every twenty-six hours or so.