What is a tropical storm warning?

A Tropical Storm Warning is issued when sustained winds of 34 to 63 knots, or 39 to 73 miles per hour, or higher associated with a tropical cyclone are expected in 36 hours or less. These winds may be accompanied by storm surge, coastal flooding, and-or river flooding.