What is a maverick wave?

Mavericks is a dangerous wave that breaks off Pillar Point, in Half Moon Bay, at Princeton-by-the-Sea, in Northern California, just 20 miles south of San Francisco. It's a fast and furious right-hand wave that, on epic days, produces a rare left-hander.