How do you get paid when you have equity in a company?

If you have equity in a company you own either private or publicly traded shares/equities of that company. Publicly traded shares can be sold on the stock exchange that lists the company. For private shares, all shareholders agree to an outside evaluation and negotiate purchase of your shares.