What makes a transformer a prime?

Prime is a distinguished rank regarding Transformers. It is used as the identification for the leader of the Autobots, something that is bestowed only on those that carry the Matrix of Leadership within them. It is retroactively derived from Primus, the creator of the Transformers.

---

The title Prime is bestowed only on those Transformers that carry the Matrix of Leadership within them. It is retroactively derived from Primus, the creator of the Transformers race.