How do you tell if a pearls real?

The first way to tell if a pearl is real is to feel it. When touching a real pearl, it feels cool and warms up when worn. Fake pearls feel warm, and can be sticky when felt with fingers. A natural pearl has a unique weight. Counterfeits may have a weight that is ridiculously small or overly heavy.