What happened to the u. s. s. indianapolis during world war two?

In July of 1945, Indianapolis completed a top-secret mission to deliver the components for "Little Boy", the first of two atomic bombs dropped on Japan. Days later, it was sunk by a Japanese submarine but the stranded crew was not found for several days. Of 1,195 crewmen aboard only 316 survived.