How do you know if a caterpillar is a girl or a boy?

For most caterpillars you need to wait until they reach the adult stage of life and transform into butterflies or moths. However, some translucent male caterpillars can be determined by looking for yellow globes beneath the skin on either side of the dark line on their back.