What's a katy did?

Insects in the Tettigoniidae family are commonly called katydids, bush crickets, or long-horned grasshoppers. They're found in Australia, South Africa, and the United States, and are primarily nocturnal. They have a strident three-pulsed song, which is how they got the onomatopoeic name "katydid"