What elements are in fireworks?

The main component is gunpowder. Colors and bright lights are from metals added to the mix. Powered aluminum makes a bright flash. Powered iron creates a longer lasting yellow. Powered copper is green. Powered cobalt is blue. Wax can be added to make for a longer burn.