Why did they make halloween?

It was believed that ghosts came back to the earthly world on Halloween, and people thought that they would encounter ghosts if they left their homes. To avoid being recognized by these ghosts, they would wear masks when leaving their homes after dark so ghosts would mistake them for fellow spirits.