How is the d. a. appointed in new york city?

They are elected to 4-year terms by voters in their district. In the case of a vacancy, an acting district attorney is appointed by the Court of General Sessions until the Governor of New York fills the vacancy with an interim appointment until an election is held for the remainder of the term.