What's the origin of the phrase mind your p.'s and q.'s?

Mind your P.'s & Q.'s appears to have emerged around the 1600s, & the exact origins are unknown. 1 of the most likely theories is related to the pints & quarts served at bars, & kept track of by both servers & patrons. Patrons minding their p.'s & q.'s might drink less & behave better.