What's the difference with baking soda and baking powder?

Baking soda is 100 percent sodium bicarbonate, an alkaline salt compound that creates carbon dioxide gas, when mixed with an acid. Baking powder, on the other hand, is a mixture of sodium bicarbonate and an acid, like cream of tartar, which requires moisture and heat to activate.