When did tchaikovsky write the nutcracker?

The Nutcracker is an 1892 two-act ballet. It was originally choreographed by Marius Petipa and Lev Ivanov. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky wrote a score based on a novella called The Nutcracker and The Mouse King by E.T.A. Hoffmann.