When was the first comic made?

The earliest known comic book is called The Adventures of Obadiah Oldbuck. Originally published in several languages in Europe in 1837, among them an English version designed for Britain in 1941. The first comic strip was Richard Felton Outcault's "The Yellow Kid," which was published in 1896.