Are dogs related to foxes?

Foxes and dogs are members of the same animal family, canidae, but their lineage splits off from there. While dogs are domesticated members of the canis genus, foxes belong to several different, non-canis genera (that's the plural form of genus).

---

Foxes and dogs are members of the same animal family, canidae, but their lineage splits off from there.