Are dogs related to foxes?

Foxes and dogs are members of the same animal family, canidae, but their lineage splits off from there. While dogs are domesticated members of the canis genus, foxes belong to several different, non-canis genera (that's the plural form of genus).

---

Domestic dogs and wolves are part of a large taxonomic family called Canidae, which also includes coyotes, foxes and jackals, according to the Integrated Taxonomic Information System. Members of this family are called canids.

---

Foxes and dogs are members of the same animal family, canidae, but their lineage splits off from there.