Is denatured alcohol the same as rubbing alcohol?

No. Denatured alcohol is ethyl alcohol with toxic or bad tasting additives that make it unsuitable for consumption. The chemical formula of ethyl is C2H6O and the formula for isopropyl alcohol is C3H8O.