What was the first mission to go to the moon?

Apollo 8 was the first crewed mission to enter orbit in December 1968 and was followed by Apollo 10 in May 1969. Six missions landed men on the Moon, beginning with Apollo 11 in July 1969, during which Neil Armstrong became the first man to walk on the Moon